MINUTES OF MEETING OF VBA COUNCIL

Held 11 December 2013. (Meeting 13 2013)

At the VBA Clubrooms, 131 Poath Road, Murrumbeena & by SKYPE

Chairperson: Mr B. Thompson The meeting opened at 6.45pm

Present:

Mr B. Thompson President
Ms K. Frazer Secretary
Mr N. Ewart Treasurer

Ms J. Thompson Mr R. Berlinski Ms T. Kay

Mr B. Thompson chaired the meeting

Ms J. Hackett and Ms P. Dingwall were invited to attend as observers however owing to problems with Skype were unable to participate. Mr D. Morgan was also impacted by this issue, and was forced to leave the meeting.

1. Confirmation of Minutes of Previous Meeting

Motion 1:

That the minutes of the meeting of 6 November 2013 be accepted:

Moved: Mr B. Thompson Seconded: Ms T. Kay

CARRIED

2. **Special Councillor Regulations**

The Special Councillor regulations as circulated with a minor amendment to clarify the tie break process were discussed. The meeting agreed that nominations for the positions would close on 15th February. The meeting noted that future elections for Special Councillor positions will be conducted in time to allow for Special Councillor positions to be announced at the AGM.

Motion 2:

That the Election of Special Councillors Regulations be approved.

Moved: Mr B. Thompson Seconded: Mr. N. Ewart

CARRIED

The secretary noted also that the recently approved Articles of Association would be filed with ASIC.

3. **Correspondence**

Correspondence In:

a) C. Heesom regarding clash of dates between Sale Congress and State Women's final.

A response had been sent by Mr D. Morgan as Chair of MTC. The meeting noted that the calendar was very full, the total number of players at the state final was 6 tables, and the likely impact on Sale attendance was small.

The meeting also noted that the State Final had previously clashed with Moonee Valley's congress, and clashes were becoming increasingly unavoidable.

4. Club Manager's Report

Motion 3:

That the following new member applications be ratified.

Peter Jarvie, Linda Hsu, Michelle Drehspul, Sonja Stamer, Anne McInerney

Moved: Mr B. Thompson Seconded: Ms. J. Thompson

CARRIED

Next meeting:

Council agreed to an electronic meeting at 6.30pm on Monday 12th Jan

The meeting closed at 7.20pm

Chairperson

Mr B. Thompson