Promoting BRIDGE within Victoria
interest in the game

  • Victorian State Teams (Pennant)

    History of the Pennant

    The 1st Pennant was held in 1934, organised by the Victorian Bridge Association. Australia’s leading pair Champion-Goldberg won the first 3 Pennants playing the Pachabo system. 48 teams entered that inaugural Pennant – 16 in the A division (with the winner to become the Victorian team for the Interstate championship), 24 in the B division, and 18 in the ladies section. The format was a double round-robin qualifying to semi-finals. The “home and away” borrowed its scoring from football (4-2-0 Victory Points and percentage of points for vs against to break ties)!

    Posted Date: