Promoting BRIDGE within Victoria
interest in the game

  • Victorian Team Selection Playoff Results

    On Sunday April 7th the two winning teams from the Saturday semi-finals fought out a 64 board final for the right to represent Victoria in the Open Teams at the ANC in July.  The Pennant Team (Dee Harley/Chris Hughes, David Beckett/Neil Ewart) bolted out of the gates  in the first stanza and led by 35.  The VQP Team Justin Mill/Peter Hollands, James Coutts/Elena Moskovsky, Jamie Ebery/Leigh Gold) then pegged them back over the next two sets to lead by 8 imps going into the last 16 boards.  With 1 board to go the result was tied at 152 imps each.  The last board produced a swing of 2 imps to the Pennant Team. Full results here

    The Pennant Team added a pair who were unavailable to play the final because of Australian representative commitments so Simon Hinge and Jamie Thompson will be the third pair in the Victorian Open Team.

    In the Womens playoff held over the weekend of April 13th & 14th Thea Cowie and Erica Windmiller won convincingly after leading almost the whole way.  Joining them in the Victorian Womens team are Susie Hall/Belinda Pearson and  Diana Smart/Anna St Clair

    The Seniors playoff was held in conjunction with the Womens and Michael Gurfinkiel and John Yang also led from start to finish.  The 2nd placed pair of Arthur Robbins/Douglas Newlands  and the 3rd placed pair Stan Klofa/Lindsey Robinson will make up the Victorian Seniors Team.

    The Seniors’ and Women’s results can be seen here

    Congratulations to all!

    2019 Victorian Womens Team

    Belinda Pearson, Anna St Clair, Susie Hall, Erica Windmiller, Diana Smart, Thea Cowie      

     2019 Victorian Seniors Team                                            

    Arthur Robbins, Michael Gurfinkiel, Doug Newlands, John Yang

     (absent:  Stan Klofa, Lindsey Robinson)

    Posted Date: